Shooting and disabling fevers? What is the number (ie "+6") that appears when this happens?

Hi, I’m pretty new to this and didn’t play CF2 so forgive me if these are stupid questions. From what I gather, when you place fevers on the field, other players can shoot them and disable them - is that right? (They turn opaque and the icon shrinks). Is the fever in question then disabled for everyone - or just the person who shot it? And when someone does shoot one of my fevers, a number with a plus sign briefly appears from my ship (ie “+6”) – what does this number mean? It doesn’t appear to affect the scoring or battle points or anything. Or have I completely misunderstood what’s going on here?

I have searched, read the FAQ and the ‘Understanding your powers’ post, and the wiki is no longer - is there anywhere where I can actually read the rules to this game? I feel like I’m missing something obvious! Thanks for reading.

I’ll try to explain it as short as possible:
If you shoot a fever and someone hits it at some point, it will show +6 next to your ship (following your example here). This ‘+6’ means that you gained 6 points, which brings you closer to the 250 points you usually need to win a game.The fever will only affect the person that hit the fever, all the other players won’t notice anything.
You can only get affected by a fever if you hit it (go through it) with your ship, shooting it doesn’t do anything. You can get affected by your own fever if you hit it, but you won’t lose any points if you do. IF someone hit the fever, this fever will be gone from the game field for everyone. A fever will only affect one person and is gone right after it has been hit.

ok lmao I don’t know if this helps but if you have a question regarding my not so clear answer, I’m happy to help.